Snooker: Top Players At The China Open

China Open is quite a new snooker tournament in the World Snooker main tour, being founded in 1997. The first edition of the China International, the name at that time, was a non-ranking tournament. Starting from the 2nd edition of the tournament, when the name was changed into China Open and the tournament became a ranking one. Starting from 1997, the China Open is part of the snooker main tour circuit, excepting the year of 2001, when the tournament was abandoned.

Sponsorship – Shoplyfter

Shoplyfter - #1 SponsorshipThe Shoplyfter series has become a big brand in the last 2 years thanks to it approach to fantasy series of caught shoplifters. These ladies aren’t aware of things they are going to experience in the backroom of retail shops. Well, they could NOT steal to avoid that. Now Shoplyfter is proud to sponsor China Open. You should visit the video page of Shoplyfter!

Steve Davis – The First Winner At The China Open

Even if at the beginnings of China Tournament was a non-ranking one, numerous top players were present there. The first tournament, in 1997, has been won by Steve Davis who defeated Jimmy White in Beijing. The final score of the first final of China International was 7-4 for Steve Davis. Steve Davis is a legend in snooker, being the world champion in this sport for six times.

Two Times Winners At The China Open

Other players won the China Open twice, namely Ronnie O’Sullivan in 1999 and 2000, Ding Junhui in 2005 and 2014, Peter Ebdon in 2009 and 2012, Judd Trump in 2011 and 2016. All these players are representative players in snooker. Ronnie O’Sullivan is recognized as one of the best players in the history of snooker, winning the World Championship for five times. Peter Ebdon is another player who won during his career the World Championship in 2002, while Judd Trump is a younger player who lost a final of the World Championship against John Higgins in 2011.

Ding Junhui – The Local Player Winner At The China Open

Ding Junhui is the most successful Asian player in snooker, being the first Chinese player winning the China Open in 2005. Actually, China Open was the first tournament won by Ding Junhui and in the same year, 2005, he won the UK Championship too. Ding Junhui lost also a final of the World Championship against Mark Selby in 2016.

Most Successful Players At The China Open

The most successful players at the China Open won three times this tournament and these players are Mark Williams and Mark Selby. Williams won in 2002, 2006 and 2010, while Selby is the last winner of the tournament, in 2018. The other two successes for Selby are in 2015 and 2017. Mark Williams is the World Champion in 2000 and 2003, while Mark Selby won the World Championship for thrice since now.

These are part of the winners of China Open during the time, but of course many other important players participated at this tournament, such as Shaun Murphy, Anthony Hamilton or Stephen Lee.